This Week’s Progress

September 12, 2010 § Leave a comment

Cesar and I made three huge strides this week in the wedding planning process: we decided on a date, we booked a venue, and I picked my dress.  Cesar’s impending 3.5 week trip to Finland had me doubting that we’d get any of these things done before Halloween.  Luckily, the venue is only a few blocks away from PS1, where we spent our Labor Day, and — surprisingly — it was open on the national holiday.  So we were able to wander over and take a look at the second floor together.  Four days later, we put down a deposit for September 3, 2011.  I want to jump up and down and ramble like a pre-schooler about all the details, but I also don’t want to give everything away.

I will, however, give you a sneak peek at some of my favorite details of the venue, the Metropolitan Building in Long Island City.  For all non-New Yorkers, Long Island City is in Queens and is in fact a very short subway ride from both Manhattan and our apartment in Bushwick.  Photos by Cesar.

Cesar takes beautiful pictures even when he's not trying.

Brick like I like it: Exposed

The first time I visited, this cubby hole was filled with a giant buddha head. This birdcage is equally awesome.

As far as the dress goes, I’ll give you three clues and see if you can guess which one I picked:

1.  It was an early favorite.

2.  The details are reminiscent of cake frosting.

3.  My love of the dress may or may not have been subconsciously informed by seeing this image over and over as a teenager:

I will NOT be wearing white shoes. I can't say anything regarding Cesar's socks.

This may require taking a look at the archives.  Just to keep it interesting, though, I will neither confirm nor deny any correct guesses 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Week’s Progress at An Artful Wedding.

meta

