Photography

October 21, 2010 § 2 Comments

While home in August, I was talking with my parents about their wedding photos.  They love the photos for the memories captured, but display the slightest hint of chagrin at the style (it was the late 70s, after all).  I, on the other hand, love their wedding album because the photos feel so authentically 1979.  Ladies in peach, gents in powder blue (with ruffle front tux shirts … yes).  And the hazy exposure is an effect some of today’s digital photographers intentionally apply to their t00-perfect images as an afterthought.  People work hard to take digital products back to those days when a good photo took a lot of skill twice: once in the initial framing, focusing and exposure, and again in development … of film?  What’s that?

Photography is a highly accessible art form these days, but I do think it takes a lot of skill, still, if a photographer wants his/her images to stand out in the sea of digital excess.  And Cesar and I want … nay, need! … good photos of our wedding.  I don’t care if our fashions are outrageously embarrassing in 30 years, as long as the colors are vibrant, the angles are intriguing, the moments are candid, and the lighting is clever.  So I’ve been researching photographers and have found a few that I think would capture Cesar and I in the correct manner.

Jen

One group that I am very interested in is Love Me Do Photography.  This is the group responsible for what could be my favorite Real Wedding image of all time! You’ll likely remember it from a previous post.  I can’t even talk about this photo anymore.  It’s completely unreal.  I want photos like this that we can show our kids someday, just in case we (I) get even dorkier with age.

More evidence of Love Me Do’s brilliance:

We really need a dog.

I have also been looking at Sweet Little Photographs, who coincidentally do a lot of Lovely’s photography.

Then there are the options I already know are out of the question for budgetary reasons.

4Eyes Photography:

So colorful!

And Unusually Fine:

They got me with the origami. Go figure.

I am always open to suggestions, too, if any of you know a superb New York photographer with sensible prices.  Of course, Cesar and I will have our cameras on hand, too.  Cuz you can’t have too many photos, especially when we like taking them too!  (That’s too many toos!)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Photography

  • julie says:

    a friend of mine recently transplanted herself (and her photography business) from Chicago to New York and I absolutely LOVE her work: http://www.emilydewan.com/weddings.html
    Even her casual shots (like, the pictures she takes when we go out drinking) are awesome. I don’t know how she does it but she makes everybody, even those of us who are extremely not photogenic, look gooooood.

    ps. I love your blog so much! I don’t even remember how I found it, but I’m a Brooklyn gal who just got engaged and is a complete moron about weddings. So I’m reading everything I can get my hands on, and your blog is absolutely one of my favorites.

    • Julie McCabe says:

      Thank you so much! That’s such a huge compliment! And thanks for the tip on your friend’s photography. Her work is beautiful! I’ll be inspecting it more closely over lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Photography at An Artful Wedding.

meta

