Getting reacquainted

March 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

Upon returning to freelance, I assumed my posts would become more frequent.  And yet somehow it has been a whole week since my last post.  What have I been doing with myself since leaving the 9-5 (10-6 if you want to get technical)?

Sewing.  Lots and lots of sewing.  My main project at the moment is to produce 800 pairs of white cotton boat sails with 1/4″ rolled hems.  I’m about 100 single sails in, plus the hundreds of samples Cesar and I agonized over before we could finally get down to producing the real thing.  If hemming simple right triangles sounds easy, it’s not.  Not when facing the perfection and consistency expected by a visual artist.  If this were a costume, I’d say, “The twisting of the bias seam is totally what I was going for.  And the variation in the final dimensions is a happy accident.”  But this is not a costume, and the product will not be viewed from the forgiving distance that a theatre provides.  So … I sew!!  But it’s very satisfying to plug through a huge stack of work and have something to show for it at the end of the day.  Feels good!

I’ve also been sewing for myself for the first time in a very long time.  This week’s personal project was my wedding veil.

As I’ve said before, I’m a big fan of the birdcage.  But I am not a fan of the $150-$250 price tags that are affixed to most of them.  Unjustifiable in my mind.  Especially when the main ingredient is air.  Furthermore, I’ve had scraps of vintage lace sitting in a bag at home for months.  I’ve been trying to figure out how to incorporate them into my wedding look, and a big flower for my veil was the perfect solution!

The white half-rosette is made of sail scraps, and the doo-dads in the center were salvaged off a dying showgirl headpiece that was headed to it’s costume grave.  The netting cost me approximately $2.00.  For .8% of the cost of a retail birdcage veil, I made one that I think could rival anything BHLDN has to offer.  Not to brag or anything, I’m just really happy with how it turned out.

I have lots of supplies left over, so look out for a couple veils in my Etsy shop very soon!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Getting reacquainted at An Artful Wedding.

meta

