Mind: Boggled

March 24, 2011 § 4 Comments

I have a confession to make: wedding invitations are way over my head.  I saw this diagram on Envelopperinc.com and thought maybe Cesar and I should invite our guests via phone call.  And I loathe talking on the phone, so that gives you an idea of my enthusiasm level over formal paper invitations.

Why so many options?  And what information is really vital?  Names, dates, location, time, RSVP: these details seem very important to me.  Maybe a local map.  So why are there so many elements and peripheral cards in all of these packages?  Are card backings and cellophane bags really going to enhance the invitation viewing experience?

I’m going to be completely honest here: I have never really wrapped my brain around good paper presentation.  In college I agonized over the books we had to produce documenting various processes in my draping, tailoring, and crafts classes.  My classmates seemed to produce effortlessly beautiful chronologies which left me thinking, “Why is this part so difficult for me?”  I am far more interested in the object I’m crafting than I have ever been in the 2D paper representation of that object.  And that’s the best way I can describe how I feel about the task of creating wedding invitations.  I thought some of the stationery sites would inspire me, but they have only left me confused.

Can anyone point me toward solid inspiration that does not include digital diagrams of the 1000+ options available to me?  We want to design our own, but I need visual research!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Mind: Boggled

  • Bethany says:

    I have to say that the majority of invites I receive leave me feeling, well, uninspired. I am a texture/color girl. But not in the cellophane/ tissue paper way. To tell you the truth, I only remember one invitation I’ve received – ever. And it had that real hand-made quality to it. I could feel Abbey and Dan’s fingertips on the paper, could almost hear them laughing while they folded and stuffed. I loved the brown paper envelope. So I guess what I am saying is that the commercial paperies, even the lovely, super-trendy ones, are just not as good as doing it yourself…

    Finding the time to do design/create/assemble the invites is a whole ‘nother story…

    • Julie McCabe says:

      I totally agree that Abbey and Dan’s invites were the most inspiring I’ve ever received! I looked to her blog for some insight into the process behind those marvelous things. As a result I’ve spent hours poring over yet another blog she cited: Oh So Beautiful Paper.

      Abbey, thank you for showing us that wedding invitations do not have to look like bubble gum threw up on a flower. Your invites were sophisticated and keepsake worthy.

  • Irma says:

    I NEVER intended on making the invitations for our wedding. I spent countless hours searching the internet and (of course) anything that ever caught my eye was outrageously expensive. Eventually I stumbled upon $8 blank invitation kits (25ct) from Jack’s 99cent world. I bought the color that worked best, & then got reacquainted with Photo Shop. In the end, I only used the pocket folds & envelopes from the kit. But it’s still a bargain considering how much some places charge. It helped me to see what other people were doing over at http://www.weddingbee.com/tag/invitations/

    Remember, there’s no right or wrong. Just go with what feels right for you & Cesar. And P.S. judging from the save the dates, you can totally make those invites. =)

    • Julie McCabe says:

      Your invites looked so great! They were so polished and beautifully crafted! Just like every design element of your wedding day!

      So far I have put together a nice map of Long Island City, so at least everyone will be able to find our wedding. Now we just have to figure out the rest of the invitation! But I’ve got a couple ideas floating around in my brain stew.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mind: Boggled at An Artful Wedding.

meta

